top of page
  • Writer's pictureDominique

Happy Anniversary to Security in Color!


WOW. A year ago I had this then-crazy idea to create a platform that would disseminate cybersecurity information to everyone.


Whenever I would go to popular cyber news sites or searched for a resource, the author never looked like me. The information was complicated and I didn't connect. And it was frustrating because I know cybersecurity can be talked about so much better and be relatable for everyone. I thought what could little ole me do? I was super nervous and scared, thinking how could a Black woman dominate in this space where I didn't see representation nor knew any allies. But I swallowed my fear and launched it anyway. In the past year Security in color went from small blog to a podcast with over 5000 listens across multiple continents. That's insane to write outloud!


I really enjoy sharing cybersecurity knowledge and helping the next generation of professionals and leaders, all the while becoming one myself. I am not perfect. I am still learning. I still have goals (CISO & CIO soon come!). But I wouldn't be here if I didn't just launch.


So to each and every one of you that has helped me grow and evolve as a person and my platform for the past year, THANK YOU!!!


As an extra thank you I am doing a giveaway to two lucky supporters that includes: new Security in Color merch + a career consultation to help those looking for guidance on how to pivot or expand their career in cyber or cloud security.


Link to our anniversary podcast episode: https://bit.ly/sicpod2


Link to our giveaway: https://bit.ly/sicgiveaway

16 views0 comments
bottom of page